Clean out unwanted sites in your Netlify account by following these steps.
Netlify is a web hosting service that allows you to host a site online for free. You can use it to manage your builds, deployments, and other settings necessary to get your site up and running over the web.
There may come a time when you decide to take your website down. If you decide to do so, Netlify allows you to delete it using the site settings for the app. Once you delete your site, you will no longer be able to view it through its domain name.
How to Delete Your App on Netlify
When you delete your website, Netlify removes it from the web. Search engines will then remove the site from their database when they re-index its content. Once you delete your website, you will be unable to view it by entering the domain name into a browser’s address bar.
- Log in to your Netlify account.
- On the dashboard page, under the Sites heading, click on the website that you would like to delete.
- On your site’s page, click on Site settings.
- Click on the General tab.
- Click on the Danger zone subsection in the left-hand menu, or scroll down to the very bottom of the General section.
- Click on the Delete this site button.
- Netlify will not allow you to delete the site unless you confirm by entering your site’s full name.
- Click on Delete.
- Try to access your site using your domain name, such as “https://lighthearted-valkyrie-085afa.netlify.app/”. Confirm that you no longer have access to your site.
- Go back to the main Netlify dashboard by clicking on the Netlify icon in the top-left corner of the page. Your deleted website will no longer appear in your list of hosted sites.
Hosting and Removing Applications on Netlify
Now you know the steps you need to take to delete your website from Netlify. You can streamline your web hosting by only hosting websites you want people to view, and by deleting any unused practice or test sites.